2015 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award Winners

May 1, 2015 at 12:08 am

Ann Long, MD, and Bhakti Patel, MD, have been selected to receive the 2015 Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award, which recognizes pulmonary and critical care fellows engaged in clinical research.

Ann Long, MD

Ann Long, MD

Dr. Long is currently a fellow at the University of Washington (UW) in Seattle and previously served as chief resident in the department of internal medicine at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, LA. She is also the workgroup co-chair of the Society of Critical Care Medicine Guideline on Family-Centered Care in the ICU and co-chair of the Mock Grant Review Committee at the UW division of pulmonary and critical care medicine.

“Ann is an outstanding physician and clinical scientist with extraordinary potential for development into a national leader in clinical research,” says J. Randall Curtis, MD, MPH, professor of medicine in the division of pulmonary and critical care medicine at UW.

Bhakti Patel

Bhakti Patel, MD

Dr. Patel is a fellow at the University of Chicago Medical Center, and she previously served as the chief resident at the University of Chicago. Dr. Patel has published four peer-reviewed papers during her fellowship and received the ATS Young Investigator Travel Scholarship Award in 2010, 2013, and 2014.

“Since her time here at the University of Chicago, she has exceeded our expectations,” says John P. Kress, MD, professor of medicine and director of the pulmonary and critical care fellowship at the University of Chicago.” Dr. Patel’s very early success is the result of intelligence, maturity, and remarkable drive.”

Ziskind Clinical Research Scholar Award was named in honor of Morton Ziskind, MD, a highly respected clinician and researcher from Tulane University who died in 1979. A longtime ATS member, Dr. Ziskind, was known for nurturing fellows and helping them become outstanding clinicians and clinical researchers. The endowment supporting this award was started by many of Dr. Ziskind’s former students and a bequest from his colleague Oscar Friedman, MD.


ATS 2016 Full Registration